Back to News

BPOAI Feature / Philippine BPO Industry

Free AI Courses Philippines: Verified List for BPO Workers

A verified list of free AI courses Philippines BPO workers can take in 2026, checked against each provider's own pages, with certificate terms and costs.

Share on LinkedIn
Free AI Courses Philippines: Verified List for BPO Workers
Photo: Pexels

Search for a free AI course Philippines wide and you will find no shortage of lists. Very few of them check whether the courses are still open, still free, or still exist. We did. On 6 August 2026 we fetched the current page of every course named below and recorded what each provider actually says about cost, duration, and certificates. The result is shorter than the typical listicle, and two of the most heavily promoted "free" options turned out not to be free at all.

That distinction matters for BPO workers more than for most learners. Training time competes with shift schedules, and a surprise subscription fee three days into a course is a real cost on an agent's salary. So this list separates three things that usually get blurred: courses that are free end to end, courses that are free to audit but charge for the certificate, and courses that only offer a free trial.

  • 100%free learning across AI
  • 20 US dollarsper month after an initial 7-day trial at no cost
  • 10 hoursself-paced study

Every course listed was verified by retrieving the provider's own current page on 6 August 2026 and recording its stated cost, duration, and certificate terms; no course is included from memory or from secondary lists alone.

01 / 05

TESDA now runs free AI courses online

The most significant Philippine development this year is at TESDA. In May 2026, TESDA announced free online AI courses on the TESDA Online Program (TOP), delivered through a partnership with UNESCO-UNEVOC and the HP Foundation. The initial AI offerings cover an introduction to AI concepts, responsible AI use, and practical AI applications in business and everyday work. Enrollment needs only an email address and a TOP account, and courses run on web and mobile.

The TOP catalogue goes further than the announcement suggests. The ICT course category on e-TESDA also lists a Microsoft Artificial Intelligence course built around Azure AI Fundamentals, which prepares learners for Microsoft's AI-900 exam, alongside IBM SkillsBuild content, AWS courses, and Level III programs in digital marketing and content creation.

One caveat, and it is worth stating plainly: finishing a TOP course earns a TESDA Certificate of Completion, which is not a TESDA National Certificate. A National Certificate still requires a separate face-to-face assessment at a TESDA-accredited assessment center. If a job posting asks for an NC II, an online completion certificate does not satisfy it. The two documents are different, and employers know the difference.

02 / 05

Four global providers are free from enrollment to certificate

These four checked out as free at every step, including the certificate, as of 6 August 2026.

  • HP LIFE, AI for Beginners (HP Foundation). HP LIFE describes itself as a free business and digital skills training program in eight languages, and its AI for Beginners course covers AI concepts, data, and workplace tools at no charge. Completing a course earns a free Certificate of Completion. The catalogue also includes Critical Thinking in the AI Era, aimed at spotting misinformation and bias in AI output, a directly useful skill for quality assurance work.
  • IBM SkillsBuild (IBM). The platform states it offers "100% free learning" across AI, cybersecurity, data, and cloud, with digital credentials issued on completion. It serves adult learners as well as students, and no purchase is attached to the badges.
  • Elements of AI (University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn). A free online introduction to AI for non-experts, with no advanced math or programming required. Over two million learners have signed up across more than 170 countries. Both Introduction to AI and Building AI are free.
  • Microsoft Learn (Microsoft). The official FAQ states that "Microsoft Learn training is free and available to anyone". The beginner path Get started with AI applications and agents on Azure runs seven modules; it assumes basic computing and some Python. Note that Microsoft's formal certification exams, such as AI-900, sit outside the free training and are a separate registration.

03 / 05

Free to audit is not the same as free

Two well known options deserve a closer read before you enroll.

  • AI For Everyone (DeepLearning.AI on Coursera, taught by Andrew Ng). Roughly seven hours across four modules, non-technical, and genuinely useful as a first course. The course page offers a Join for Free option, but the shareable certificate requires paying for the certificate experience. Financial aid is available for learners who apply. If you only need the knowledge, the free route works; if you need the certificate line on a resume, budget for it or apply for aid.
  • Google AI Essentials (Google, via Coursera). Frequently described online as free for Filipinos. The Philippine Grow with Google page states the actual terms: under 10 hours of self-paced study, priced at 20 US dollars per month after an initial 7-day trial at no cost. That is a free trial, not a free course. It is a well built program, but it does not belong on a free list, and we are not putting it on one.
Know a BPO leader who should read this?Share on LinkedIn

04 / 05

A workable sequence for BPO workers

Based only on what the provider pages state, a sensible zero-cost path looks like this: start with Elements of AI or HP LIFE's AI for Beginners for concepts, add HP LIFE's Critical Thinking in the AI Era if you work in QA or content moderation, then move to the Azure AI Fundamentals course on e-TESDA or Microsoft Learn's beginner path if your accounts team runs on Microsoft tooling, and collect an IBM SkillsBuild credential along the way. Every step is free, and every certificate or badge in that sequence can be attached to a JobStreet or LinkedIn profile. Our AI Academy maps these providers against specific BPO roles if you want a track matched to your current job.

05 / 05

What we could not verify, and what comes next

Two gaps are worth stating. First, DICT's digitaljobsPH training program: DICT's own pages were unreachable at our retrieval date (server errors and login walls), so the only description we could check was a third-party summary of its free freelancing trainings, whose listed modules cover digital marketing, virtual assistance, and web development rather than AI. Treat that entry as unconfirmed until DICT's pages are back. Second, we intended to publish the percentage of Philippine BPO job postings that name each certification, but job board pages blocked automated retrieval this round. Those counts will be added in an update with their pull dates rather than estimated now. A number we cannot trace is a number we do not print.

Philippine BPOs with AI-readiness tiers that are checked, not claimed.Browse the BPO directory
11Sources and methodologyEvery figure on this page carries a source URL, retrieval date, and confidence score

Every course listed was verified by retrieving the provider's own current page on 6 August 2026 and recording its stated cost, duration, and certificate terms; no course is included from memory or from secondary lists alone. Cost and certificate claims are the providers' own statements, so official catalog pages are scored at 0.78 to 0.88 confidence, the news report of TESDA's announcement at 0.78, and the single third-party description (DICT) at 0.60 and labeled unconfirmed in the text. Planned job-posting demand counts were not published because job board pages blocked retrieval on the same date.

  1. 01TESDA offers free online AI courses (intro to AI concepts, responsible AI use, practical AI applications) via UNESCO-UNEVOC and HP Foundation partnership; completion earns a certificate, while national certification requires a separate face-to-face assessmentPhilSTAR Life · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.78 · News report of TESDA's May 2026 announcement, including enrollment steps and the completion-vs-NC distinction
  2. 02e-TESDA TOP ICT catalogue lists a Microsoft Artificial Intelligence course (Azure AI Fundamentals, AI-900 prep), IBM SkillsBuild, AWS courses, and Level III digital skills programsTESDA Online Program course catalogue · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.85 · Official catalogue page; pricing not stated on the page itself, free status per TESDA announcement coverage
  3. 03HP LIFE is a free business and digital skills training program in eight languages; completing a course earns a free Certificate of Completion; catalogue includes Critical Thinking in the AI EraHP LIFE (HP Foundation) · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.85 · Provider's own homepage claims: 'Learn critical skills free of charge'
  4. 04HP LIFE AI for Beginners is a free course covering AI concepts, data, AI tools, and ethics, offered by the HP FoundationHP LIFE program announcement · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.82 · Announcement page confirms free status; duration not stated on the page, so none is claimed
  5. 05IBM SkillsBuild offers '100% free learning' across AI, cybersecurity, data, and cloud, with digital credentials on completion, open to adult learnersIBM SkillsBuild · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.85 · Provider's own platform statement
  6. 06Elements of AI is a free online introduction to AI by the University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn; Introduction to AI and Building AI are both free; 2M+ sign-ups across 170+ countriesElements of AI · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.85 · Provider's own course site
  7. 07'Microsoft Learn training is free and available to anyone'; credentials and certification exams are a separate processMicrosoft Learn FAQ · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.88 · Direct quote from official FAQ, page updated July 2026
  8. 08Microsoft Learn beginner path 'Get started with AI applications and agents on Azure' has 7 modules covering generative AI, agents, speech, vision, and information extraction; prerequisites are basic computing and PythonMicrosoft Learn · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.85 · Official learning path page, updated 31 July 2026
  9. 09AI For Everyone (DeepLearning.AI, Andrew Ng) takes approximately 7 hours over 4 modules; free audit enrollment available, shareable certificate requires paid certificate experience, financial aid availableCoursera course page · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.80 · Free-to-audit terms as displayed on the course page; certificate is paid
  10. 10Google AI Essentials in the Philippines runs under 10 hours via Coursera and costs 20 US dollars per month after a 7-day trial at no cost; it is a free trial, not a free courseGrow with Google Philippines · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.85 · Google's own Philippine pricing statement, quoted directly
  11. 11DICT digitaljobsPH offers free technical trainings for online freelancing (digital marketing, virtual assistance, web development, and similar); no AI course in the listed modulesGovernmentPH (third-party) · retrieved 2026-08-06 · confidence 0.60 · Third-party description; DICT official pages (dict.gov.ph, dict.coursebank.ph, PNA) were unreachable on the retrieval date. Labeled unconfirmed in the article

Confidence scale: 0.90–0.98 registry or official data, 0.75–0.89 third-party aggregated, 0.50–0.74 self-attested. Figures that could not be sourced were removed rather than published.

Share this story

Know a BPO leader who should read this?

Share it with your network on LinkedIn in one click.

Share on LinkedIn